Where the party don’t stop till 4am

January 17, 2010 at 12:55 PM Leave a comment

Successful first Finnish clubbing experience of the trip. There’s a new club in town since I left called Onnela, several floors of different music and drunken Finns. Despite less than stellar music and a still slightly queasy stomach, Milla and I had a great time and I witnessed my first Finnish bar fight. However, boys, no matter your nationality or state of drunkness, it’s never OK to push a girl! I thought I would not make it to the end of the night since I’m use to Canadian clubs closing by 2:30AM, but it was a surprise to still be dancing when the lights turned on at 4AM. Not speaking Finnish is also a good way to avoid awkward situations with creepy old men, as Milla and I both pretended to be Canadian exchange students whenever the situation warranted.

I’ve visited a few friends already and my first ex-host family. Everything is refreshingly the same in Kokkola, except for the addition of the new mall, Chydenia. Although by now having an H&M in town is a bit passé. I still need to explore a bit more, and visit some old favourites, but for the most part things are just the way I left them.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

So much for Finnish fun… Bad referees

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Gingervere is the Middle English origin of ginger. Despite being the go-to word to describe redheads, some definitions of ginger are: spirit, liveliness, vigor, piquancy, enliven, and animation.

I'm a 21-year-old student originally from Canada, but currently on an adventure in Belgium for the semester. This blog will follow me, my musings, and whatever shenanigans I get up to while I travel around Europe and occassionally attend classes.

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

