January 26, 2010 at 5:23 PM Leave a comment

Tampere city from the top of the tower in Pyynikki

My first and final Hesburger meal

On my last day in Tampere, Milla and I went on a mini-sightseeing walking trip. We wandered the snowy forested area tucked into the centre of town, Pyynikki, and got an amazing view from the top of the watch tower. After coffee and pulla, we wandered down to browse the shops and wish we had the money to spend (as well as some weight left in my overweight suitcases). I kept rationalizing that I will hopefully be returning in the spring with less luggage and more opportunity to purchase all the amazing Finnish crafts. I think of any country I’ve been in, Finland has the best selection of housewares; I just want everything! It turns me into wannabe interior designer. I did score some bedding (duvet cover and matching pillow cover, pillowcase, and a flat sheet) for my bed in Belgium all for less than 30e at the Finlayson store. (Finlayson is a famous Finnish textile company, which was actually started by a Scot, James Finlayson.) I also had my first, and likely last, Hesburger meal of the trip, which is a fastfood restaurant similar to McDonalds. All in all it was a perfect last day in Tampere. Now I just have to haul my overweight suitcases (23k and 27k) to Helsinki for my last two days in Finland!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Tallin adventure CBC Radio – The Current: Women Studies Debate

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Gingervere is the Middle English origin of ginger. Despite being the go-to word to describe redheads, some definitions of ginger are: spirit, liveliness, vigor, piquancy, enliven, and animation.

I'm a 21-year-old student originally from Canada, but currently on an adventure in Belgium for the semester. This blog will follow me, my musings, and whatever shenanigans I get up to while I travel around Europe and occassionally attend classes.

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

