Louvain-la-neuve

January 31, 2010 at 1:02 PM Leave a comment

It’s been a couple frustrating but amazing days in Belgium so far. Upon arriving I was told the room I had rented was inconveniently located 10 minutes by train from the university. Not that bad, except after 11pm there would be no way to get home, and considering that generally the night doesn’t start until after that I would be forced to crash with people way too often. So instead of going to my room, I went to the exchange student house thinking it would be good to meet the other students anyway. But then the person who was suppose to meet me wasn’t there, and I spent 45 minutes with a random stranger helping me try to find the place with my two massive suitcases.

I’ve been staying at the exchange student house since Thursday, and I’ve found a better place to rent right in town. My other landlord is understandably pissed, and I’m just frustrated at the housing service for not providing adequate help in finding me a place (since I was waitlisted for the university housing). If someone had just told me straight off that I probably wouldn’t want to live anywhere but downtown, I wouldn’t have taken the other place. Oh well, in the end everything is sorted out now.

The Grand Place in the centre of Brussels.

Yesterday a group of us spent a casual Saturday afternoon wandering around downtown Brussels. It’s not too far on the train, generally about an hour just because there is always some reason the train falls behind schedule. We got waffles, saw the statue of the peeing boy, and wandered around enjoying the sights, and surprisingly not getting lost!

We’ve been out each night enjoying the Belgian nightlife, but tonight is the traditional UCL cercle. It should be a very interesting night…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Back to Belgium Officially situated

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Gingervere is the Middle English origin of ginger. Despite being the go-to word to describe redheads, some definitions of ginger are: spirit, liveliness, vigor, piquancy, enliven, and animation.

I'm a 21-year-old student originally from Canada, but currently on an adventure in Belgium for the semester. This blog will follow me, my musings, and whatever shenanigans I get up to while I travel around Europe and occassionally attend classes.

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

