Circles

February 13, 2010 at 10:09 AM Leave a comment

The Belgians here in Louvain-la-neuve party a bit differently than other people. On Thursday I successfully went to my first circle; success meaning I didn’t drink too much, but I drank enough to have fun and to still remember the night! Circles (or cercles in French), are hosted by different organizations. Every academic discipline and regional area seems to have their own. Held in empty rooms except a bar and the sound system, circles are not for profit, so the beer is cheap and in large supply, so a bit of an alcohol abuse can tend to happen. They’re dirty, as you will get beer split all over you, and potentially vomit. Sounds amazing, right? The exchange students tend to frequent La Casa, the circle that most resembles an underground night club. It’s definitely something you have to be prepared to attend, but as I spend more time here, and go to more circles, it’s a strange tradition that I’m growing to like. Although granted, I haven’t experienced getting thrown up on yet.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Brief stay in Amsterdam

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Gingervere is the Middle English origin of ginger. Despite being the go-to word to describe redheads, some definitions of ginger are: spirit, liveliness, vigor, piquancy, enliven, and animation.

I'm a 21-year-old student originally from Canada, but currently on an adventure in Belgium for the semester. This blog will follow me, my musings, and whatever shenanigans I get up to while I travel around Europe and occassionally attend classes.

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

