Brief stay in Amsterdam

February 16, 2010 at 12:42 PM Leave a comment

Amsterdam's red light district at night

Amsterdam was an interesting city, it’s easy to go for a few days and not really see anything, you can get too distracted by the bright lights and smokey bars. It was strange, as you walk through the red light district, the women in the windows are lit so oddly that they don’t look real, instead they appear almost like moving mannequins. I have to wonder how many locals come to this area because wherever we walked and whatever bar or coffee-shop we were in it was just more foreigners like ourselves.

The only somewhat educational outings we took were to the sex museum, the Anne Frank house (unfortunately this was post-coffee-shop and neither of us can really remember a thing), and the Van Gogh museum. I really don’t recommend smoking and sightseeing; not if you are truly interested. Luckily I’m going back to Amsterdam next month, and I think with my new knowledge of the city I’ll be better able to cope with its many distractions.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Circles

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Gingervere is the Middle English origin of ginger. Despite being the go-to word to describe redheads, some definitions of ginger are: spirit, liveliness, vigor, piquancy, enliven, and animation.

I'm a 21-year-old student originally from Canada, but currently on an adventure in Belgium for the semester. This blog will follow me, my musings, and whatever shenanigans I get up to while I travel around Europe and occassionally attend classes.

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

